What Defines a Cliche Book?

As most of you readers know, I am a picky reader. When I write reviews, I nit-pick every little thing that bothers me. Hopefully you guys don’t mind listening to me critique; I just can’t stand poor writing, boring plots, or cliche phrases.

Then I heard someone say, “People like cliche. It wouldn’t be cliche if people didn’t love it and ask for more” It hit me hard. I hate cliche, but does everyone else? Also, what defines something cliche in a book?

Cliche:
noun

1.

a trite, stereotyped expression; a sentence or phrase, usuallyexpressing a popular or common thought or idea, that has lostoriginality, ingenuity, and impact by long overuse, as sadder butwiser, or strong as an ox.

2.

(in art, literature, drama, etc.) a trite or hackneyed plot, character development, use of color, musical expression, etc.

3.

anything that has become trite or commonplace through overuse.
I like that last one. Cliche, in a nutshell, is anything that has lost its originality through overuse. I think cliché phrases is the most commonly used stereotype, but there are other things in a book that can and are cliché that authors include. What defines a cliché book?
My opinion of what is a cliché plot or element in the story is defined by what I read. I read a lot of fantasy and adventure stories; something that bothers me all the time is there are too many stories with exceptional archers. Have you noticed that? But people like archery because it’s cool. To me, it is cliché, but I can’t say that it is classed as cliché by others because they are still asking for more. It’s a fad right now.
Have you ever read the book Eragon? I haven’t, but my sister did. She shares the same sentiments as me about cliche-ness. She read Eragon, but constantly complained the whole time, saying that it felt like they threw in everything cliché in the fantasy genre they could think of. Maybe that is why it is such a popular book.
Another subject that is very overused is that the main character is an orphan, either looking for his parents, trying to at least find out who they are (or were), or simply dealing with life without them. I think that this is a fact that a lot of people can’t connect to, but often plots are just easier if parents aren’t in the way. I wouldn’t say I don’t like reading about orphans, but as soon as I open up a book and they say, “I have missed my parents ever since they died”, I think, “Oh boy, here we go again….”
These are only a few of the one’s I really dislike, among others, but the point is that it really depends on what genre and how much you read. If you don’t read too much, then they probably won’t bother you as much as they bother me. Popular teenager books are notorious for being unoriginal or cliche, because teenagers tend to not read very much.
The point I am trying to get across is that everyone’s cliché may be a little different, and that no one book is wholly cliché. What is one book you have read that had one or several cliché elements?
One response

Leave a Reply

