Shadow Horse and Whirlwind by Alison Hart

Thirteen-year-old Jasmine is found guilty of assaulting Hugh Robicheaus, the owner of the horse farm where she works. But she’s still determined to prove the Robicheaus killed Whirlwind, the mare she loved. Jas is sure the Shadow Horse, a scrawny brown gelding she rescues at a horse auction, is the key to the mystery-but just how is Shadow Horse connected to Whirlwind?

When thirteen-year-old Jas Schuler found her beloved mare Whirlwind dead in her paddock, she though her heart would break. But now Jas knows the truth: Whirlwind is alive! Wealthy horse breeder Hugh Robicheaus faked the mare’s death, collected insurance money, then sold her to an unsuspecting buyer. And he’s going to get away with his crime, too-unless someone can find Whirlwind. And that’s exactly what Jas plans to do.

 

First off, good horse books are hard to come by. They all share the same plot, just will small alterations. Shadow Horse  was different, to say the least. I loved the entire story, and Jaz’s firey character. Usually horse books follow a girl doing everything she can for her horse; and by everything I mean risking her life, stealing, etc. While Jaz is looking for her beloved mare, Whirlwind, what the synopsis doesn’t say is that she is also trying to clear her uncles name. He was accused of poisoning the mare. So Jaz has more to gain from proving Hugh guilty that a horse.

The characters were fun, and I liked the setting as well. Jaz is quite angry in the beginning, but not without reason. I really like it when characters are far from perfect, so I personally enjoyed watching Jaz change throughout the story.

I’m not saying there was nothing cliche about this story, but as far as I’m concerned it was a refreshing story.

As for Whirlwind, I though it was an awesome sequel to Shadow Horse. It was exciting and full of adventure. Jas was still her perky self, but with a better idea of what she was doing. I loved it and it was a good book to go with the first. As I’ve said, good horse books are hard to find, but Alison did an incredible job with this book, and I wouldn’t mind reading it again.

I liked that Jas was opening up, making friends. There was good character development, and I love that in a book. I really enjoyed her character and all the characters alongside her.

 

Overall Rating: 4.5/10

Violence: 1/10 (I think)

Language: 0/10 (I think)

Inappropriateness/Romance: 3/10

Audiences: Ages 11 and up

3 responses

  1. Sounds interesting! I’ve been thinking I should seriously write a horse story that is new/non-cliche. But…..I haven’t come up with anything. Other than a rewrite/sequel to the Scorpio Races (but that wasn’t my idea anyway…..)

  2. I’ve also been thinking about trying to write a non-cliche horse story as well. As of the moment it’s pretty cliche, but I’m trying to be a little more original. 🙂

  3. I just finished this book, and my thoughts are similar to yours. I loved the not-perfect characters, and don’t have any major complaints (which is unusual). One ending I would have really loved is if she found Whirlwind, but Whirlwind didn’t actually love her back. Which would have been sad, but she had Shadow.

Leave a Reply

