Kat, Incorrigible, by Stephanie Burgis

“I was twelve years of age when I chopped off my hair, dressed as a boy, and set off to save my family from impending ruin. I made it almost to the end of my front garden.”

Kat, the youngest of four children, discovers that she has inherited her mother’s magical powers. However, her mother passed away years ago before Kat even knew this.

Being in Regency England, where witchcraft and magic make you an outcast, Kat is determined to learn to use her powers correctly in order to save her family from financial ruin and shame. But can she do it without anyone finding out? And can she prove that the evil Sir Neville, who proposed to her older sister, murdered his last wife before her older sister agrees?

6609744

 

Kat is a great character; she speaks and acts exactly like a twelve-year old. Her sisters are very funny as well, however, they tend to argue more than I thought they would.

This story is nothing at all like Harry Potter. Her magic is very hard to control, and  is very innocent. I wouldn’t be concerned about the amount of magic for younger kids. If you really must, you could preview it.

I really liked how it wasn’t too scary. Even the ‘evil’ Sir Neville is not so scary, although because he did supposedly murder his last wife, that does come up.

With a sister trying out her own magic and wreaking havoc, a highwayman lurking in the shadows in the forest, and a man under a unsuccesful (and unintended spell), this book was very….charming. I know it is a series, but I decided I did not want to continue because it got more into Kat’s magical abilities, which I was not very interesting to me.

Overall Rating: 4/5

Violence: 2/10

Language: 2/10 (maybe the Lord’s name in vain several times)

Inappropriateness/Romance: 3/10 (mostly flirting, and her older sisters falling in love)

Audience: Ages 8 and up

Leave a Reply

